Alt-J drummer Thom Sonny Green announced his debut solo album, ‘High Anxiety,’ with the glossy, hip-hop-inspired instrumental “Vienna.”

Alt-J drummer Thom Sonny Green trades in folk-inflected indie rock for stirring instrumental hip-hop on his new song “Vienna,” the first single from his debut solo album, High Anxiety.

Radiohead’s ‘The Bends’ at 20: Alt-J’s Thom Green Looks Back »The instrumental cut blends an array of synth sounds to create a mood that’s both ethereal and contemplative. But while the synths are the most upfront aspect of “Vienna,” it’s Green’s drumming that guides the track as he shifts from a steady boom-bap beat to an understated shuffle to a pulsing, cymbal-driven run.
Green will release High Anxiety on August 19th via his own Sudden Records. The 21-track collection is available to pre-order digitally, and on CD and vinyl. Green is also set to perform at the Latitude Festival July 16th in Henham Park, Suffolk in England; tickets are still available.
As for Alt-J, the British outfit has been quiet for much of 2016 since they finished touring behind their 2014 album, This Is All Yours.
High Anxiety Tracklisting
1. “Vienna”
2. “40 Beers”
3. “Market”
4. “System”
5. “Blew”
6. “Arizona”
7. “Oslo”
8. “Ping”
9. “Cologne”
10. “Houston”
11. “Oakland”
12. “VVVV”
13. “Phoenix”
14. “Large”
15. “Palms”
16. “Beach”
17. “Grounds”
18. “Preach”
19. “Christ”
20. “Meh”
21. “Neon Blue”

Source: RollingStone – Videos